Global board and staff team

The World Hepatitis Alliance Board is made up of a majority of board members who have personal experience of living with hepatitis B or hepatitis C. This includes:

  • The president and president-elect or immediate past- president, who are appointed by the board
  • A board member from each of the six WHO regions, who are elected by the World Hepatitis Alliance members in their region
  • A limited number of board members who have specific skills, knowledge or experience which the board requires, who are appointed by the board

Board members are unpaid and their primary role is to provide governance and strategic direction to the organisation and in doing so make sure that we always remain an organisation for people living with viral hepatitis.

The board are supported by a staff team who are primarily based in London who undertake the day to day operational delivery of the organisations strategy. 

Global board

rachel_500_x_500 (1)

President

Rachel Halford

Danjuma (1)

Past-president

Danjuma Adda

rbm_gamalshiha_500x500px

EMRO

Dr Gamal Shiha

patricia_500_x_500

PAHO

Dr Patricia Velez-Moller

IMG-20231107-WA0002

AFRO

Ibrahima Gueye

Reazul Islam

SEARO

MD Reazul Islam

IMG-20231108-WA0001

WPRO

Dee Lee

Gaston

Skills based board member

Gaston Picchio

WVS_9205

Treasurer

Ebuka Emebinah

Staff team

Cary James

Chief Executive Officer

Cary James

cary.james@worldhepatitisalliance.org

Ruth Jessop

Finance Manager

Ruth Jessop

ruth.jessop@worldhepatitisalliance.org

Tobiloba Kolawole

Communications Officer

Tobiloba Kolawole

tobiloba.kolawole@worldhepatitisalliance.org

Viola Libiakova

Events and Partnership Officer

Viola Libiakova

viola.libiakova@worldhepatitisalliance.org

Laura Malone

Head of Global Partnerships

Laura Malone

Laura.Malone@worldhepatitisalliance.org

Raquel Morrison WHA

Events & Sponsorship Coordinator

Raquel Morrison

raquel.morrison@worldhepatitisalliance.org

Ben Murray

Operations Manager

Ben Murray

admin@worldhepatitisalliance.org

CYNTHIA POKUAH

Project Coordinator

Cynthia Pokuah

Cynthia.Pokuah@worldhepatitisalliance.org

Steve Shaw

Communications and Marketing Manager

Steve Shaw

steve.shaw@worldhepatitisalliance.org

Alexandra Smith

Advocacy and Engagement Manager

Alexandra Smith

alexandra.smith@worldhepatitisalliance.org

Justin Webb

Project Coordinator

Justin Webb

Justin.Webb@worldhepatitisalliance.org